About ICA

CoA-OMP has changed its name to the International Council of Accreditation (ICA)

International Council of Accreditation (ICA) is sponsored by the following collaborating organizations:

ICA accredits four levels of training programs for the ophthalmic medical technician:

  • Ophthalmic Non-Clinical Assistant Program (Entry Level)
  • Ophthalmic Clinical Assistant Program (Entry Level)
  • Ophthalmic Technician Program (Intermediate Level)
  • Ophthalmic Medical Technologist Program (Advanced Level)

ICA is vested with the responsibility and authority to evaluate programs that have requested accreditation services. ICA's principal means of program evaluation consists of analyzing Self-Study Reports, sending representative teams to conduct site visits of programs, and deliberating at committee meetings.

For consideration of accreditation matters, directors of ICA express independent judgments and do not serve as instructed representatives of their sponsors.

Statement of Non-Discrimination

Members of ICA, consultants, and members of site visit teams are selected without regard to age, sex, race, color, national origin, disability, religion, sexual orientation, or marital status.