Frequently Asked Questions

If there is not an accredited training program close to me, are independent study courses available?

Below are the independent study courses available for the ophthalmic assistant (entry) level:

JCAT: Ophthalmic Assistant Career Advancement Tool

American Academy of Ophthalmology (AAO)
Ophthalmic Medical Assisting: An Independent Study Course

How do you know if a program is accredited?

All ICA accredited programs are listed on this site.

Why do I need to attend a ICA accredited training program?

Please consider the following:

  • If you want to become certified, you must attend an accredited program for your education to be recognized by IJCAHPO.
  • If you want to be eligible for scholarships, you must attend an accredited program.
  • If you wanted to go back to school and attend a more advanced program, you must have attended an accredited program for your credits/degree to transfer.

What are the different program levels?

The different program levels are:

  • Ophthalmic Non-Clinical Assistant Program (Entry Level)
  • Ophthalmic Clinical Assistant Program (Entry Level)
  • Ophthalmic Technician Program (Intermediate Level)
  • Ophthalmic Medical Technologist Program (Advanced Level)

What is accreditation?

Accreditation is a process of voluntary, non-government self-regulation that recognizes educational institutions and/or programs that have been found to meet or exceed established standards of quality.

What type of accreditation does ICA offer?

Programmatic or Specialized - ICA accredits training programs for the ophthalmic medical technician.