History of ICA

Late 60’s

The American Medical Association (AMA) established the Committee on Allied Health Education and Accreditation (CAHEA) with the responsibility of accrediting allied health education programs and providing significant financial subsidies by the AMA.

1974 to 1979

Various ophthalmological health organizations worked on writing the Essentials for the field of ophthalmology.

Mid 70’s

The Joint Review Committee for Ophthalmic Medical Personnel (JRC-OMA) was established when the Standards and Guidelines were first adopted.

Mid 80’s

JRC-OMA evolved into the Joint Review Committee for Ophthalmic Medical Personnel (JRC-OMP).


The AMA relinquished its responsibilities of programmatic accreditation, dissolving CAHEA. CAHEA transferred its functions to the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP).

CoA-OMP remained as one of the 18 recognized Committees on Accreditation (CoA's) within the CAAHEP system.


CoA-OMP diverged from the CAAHEP system to become a freestanding accreditor of ophthalmic medical technician programs, becoming the Commission on Accreditation of Ophthalmic Medical Programs.

2016 to 2017

The Canadian Society of Ophthalmic Medical Personnel (CSOMP) approached the CoA-OMP Board of Directors to discuss a joint accreditation initiative. CoA-OMP restructured and developed into the International Council of Accreditation (ICA) to include Canadian and International institutions. ICA currently has 43 accredited programs in 38 institutions.